UCI World Cycling Tour

The UCI World Cycling Tour (UWCT) is a series of UCI-sanctioned races held all over the world where amateur and masters age-group cyclists can qualify for the UCI World Championships in both road races and time trials. This is the fifth season of the Tour, and thirteen qualifier events will qualify the top 25% in each age group for the Amateur Road World Championships, and the UCI Masters Road World Championships, where the champions are awarded with the coveted rainbow jersey.

While promoting high level competition for masters and amateurs, one of the aims of this series is the global promotion of ‘Cycling for All’. With that in mind, the geographical spread of the events is very important, and this year Dubai will welcome its first UCI event, the first time a UCI World Tour Event has been held in the Middle East.

Dubai has established itself as an international destination of choice for sporting events, and plays host every year to numerous world championship and World Series events in sports such as tennis, swimming, golf, diving, badminton, cricket and rugby sevens, among others.

Dubai now also hosts the Dubai Tour, as well as the biggest mass participation cycling event in the Middle East, the Spinneys Dubai 92 Cycle Challenge, which attracts over 1,600 cyclists each year.

The addition of the Dubai Gran Fondo to the sporting calendar will further promote the growth of cycling in the region, give local cyclists the opportunity to compete in an international UCI event, and attract international amateur cyclists to Dubai. The first two events of the UCI Tour in Australia and South Africa attracted 5,000 and 10,000 riders respectively.

These events are part of the vision of the Dubai Sports Council to promote the sport in the Emirate, and has the full support of the UAE Cycling Federation.

The Tour calendar for 2014/2015 is as follows:

  • 14 September 2014, Lorne, Australia
  • 12 October 2014, Durban, South Africa
  • 20 March 2015, Dubai Gran Fondo, Dubai, UAE
  • 27-29 March 2015, Perth, Australia
  • 12 April 2015, Saint Tropez, France
  • 14-16 May 2015, Elsinore, Denmark
  • 22-24 May 2015, Blue Mountain, Canada
  • 22-24 May 2015, Skyros, Greece
  • 4 June 2015, Botucatu, Brazil
  • 6-7 June 2015, Peterborough, UK
  • 12-14 June 2015, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • 17-19 July 2015, Trento, Italy
  • 22-26 August 2015 Sankt Johann, Austria

World Championships 3-6 September 2015, Denmark